OPEN COLLEGE NETWORK NI (OCN NI) has revealed the shortlist for its third upcoming Learning Endeavour Awards 2021, which will take place online on June 2nd

OCN NI is an educational charity and awarding body that advances education by developing qualifications for adults and young people throughout NI.

The awards shortlist includes nominees from all over Northern Ireland and covers categories such as Third Sector Learner of the Year, FE Learner of the Year, Schools Learner of the Year and Inspiring Tutor/Teacher of the Year. A new category for 2021, Advancing Learning Through Innovation, was added to recognise how organisations have transformed the delivery of qualifications throughout the Covid-19 pandemic.

Entries to the 2021 awards have been record-breaking, so to make it onto the shortlist is quite an achievement, explained Martin Flynn, CEO of OCN NI: “This year is officially our biggest ever awards with almost 200 entries.

“We are genuinely thrilled at the fantastic response and the calibre of entries is extremely high so well done to everyone who has made it onto the shortlist”, said Martin.

Due to Covid-19 restrictions, the Awards will be screened live online, but that has not stopped OCN NI from ensuring everyone watching at home, in their offices or at school, is entertained.

Martin continued: “Covid-19 restrictions mean we can’t do an in-person event to celebrate our nominees’ achievements. The past year has been really challenging for learners and their teachers. So, we designed this year’s awards to not only recognise everyone’s accomplishments but added a little fun to the proceedings.  We asked radio presenters, Jordan Humphries and Steve Turnbull to host the ceremony and there are some hilarious surprises for everyone watching live online.

“We’ll also be announcing the recipient of the prestigious, Hilary Sloan Learning Endeavour Award from one of our shortlisted winners, who will receive a £1,000 learning bursary.  So, best of luck to everyone who has made the shortlist and I look forward to revealing who the winners are on June 2nd”, concluded Martin.

For more information visit 


For further information please contact Michael McCrory of Duffy Rafferty Communications on Belfast (028) 9073 0880.

The shortlist for the Learning Endeavour Awards 2021 is as follows


Further Education Learner of the Year

  •  Emad Hazaea, Belfast Met
  • Savanna Duff, Northern Regional College
  • Patrick Anthony Bradley, North West Regional College
  • Jordan Robinson, People 1st
  • Shane Green, Belfast Met
  • Sophie Kirkpatrick, Belfast Met
  • Samantha Kerrigan, Clarity Consultancy NI
  • Rodney Scullion, Southern Regional College 


Third Sector Learner of the Year

  • Pierrette Koffi Mel, Start360
  • Sharon Bann, AMH
  • Aaron Savage, NOW Group
  • Diane Huston, Supporting Communities
  • Ryan Stevenson, Advantage Foundation Ltd
  • Elaine McMahon, Sally Gardens
  • Kathryn Tilson, AMH
  • Chauntelle Coleman, Orchardville
  • Beverley Farry, AMH


Schools Learner of the Year

  • Joseph McFlynn, St Patrick’s College, Maghera
  • Shannon O’Rourke, St Patrick’s College, Maghera          
  • Caolan McCrum, Lismore Comprehensive School           
  • Adam Pearson, Craigavon Senior High School    
  • Alex Parfitt, EOTAS Loughs Road Learning Centre          
  • Dylan Buchanan, Strabane EOTAS
  • Adam McFeely, Bogside and Brandywell Health Forum


Health & Well-being Learner of the Year

  • Eoin Millar, EOTAS Loughs Road Learning Centre
  • Kathryn Tilson, AMH    
  • Ben Quigley, Education Authority
  • Beverley Farry, AMH    
  • Roberta Wadey, AMH  
  • Karen Phillips, UTS       
  • Noel Hutchinson, Start360
  • Louise Smith, AMH


Inspiring Tutor/Teacher of the Year

  • John Morgan, Belfast Trust
  • Nikki Partridge, The Advantage Foundation       
  • Martin Farrell, St Marks High School     
  • Nicole McKee, Belfast Met        
  • Ed Hanna, UTS
  • Graham Bowden, Tree NI         
  • Ronan McCaffrey, Start360
  • Jackie Roberts, Dunlewey Addiction Services


Provider of the Year

  • North West Regional College
  • Orchardville     
  • Oh Yeah Music Centre
  • Belfast Metropolitan College
  • People 1st       
  • Education Authority
  • Bryson FutureSkills
  • Belfast Recovery College, Belfast Trust

Advancing Education Through Innovation

  • Start360
  • Fermanagh and Omagh District Council ASPIRE
  • Sally Gardens
  • South West College
  • MGS Consulting
  • Belfast Metropolitan College
  • Wellington College Belfas
  • The Advantage Foundation